During the heyday of exploration in the Valley of the Kings, beginning with Eugene Lefèbvre’s survey in 1883 and ending with Howard Carter’s discovery of Tutankhamun in 1922, a large number of uninscribed, and evidently robbed, 18th Dynasty tombs were discovered. Of little interest to the early explorers, the fragmentary material from such tombs was generally only summarily examined and left in situ. Beginning in the 1980s, however, the Tacoma Pacific Lutheran University, under the leadership of Donald Ryan, began re-examining some of these tombs (KV 21, 27, 28, 44, 45, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 60) and throughout the past two decades the University of Basel, under the leadership of Hanna Jenni (KV 32) and Susanne Bickel (KV 26, 30, 31, 33, 37, 38, 40, 59, 64) has systematically re-cleared the others. Much pottery remained and this has now been systematically recorded within this project.

The pottery from the remaining tombs is in the process of being written up. In addition, thanks to the generosity of Otto Schaden†, Salima Ikram and the Amenmesse Tomb Project, I have also been entrusted with the pottery from the intact tomb KV 63, the publication of which will also appear in due course. Currently the process of recording is continuing.

Publications

Publications

That from KV 21, 27, 28, 44, 45 and 60 appeared in an article published twenty years ago, whilst the remainder is in the process of publication. That from KV 32 will appear in early 2021, whilst that from KV 40 and KV 64 will follow soon after (see below).

  • D. Aston, The Pottery, in: S. Bickel (ed.), Räuber – Priester – Königskinder. Die Gräber KV 40 und KV 64 im Tal der Könige, Band 1. Die beschrifteten Objekte der 18. Dynastie und die Keramik. Swiss Egyptological Studies 2 (Basel/Frankfurt am Main in press).
  • D. Aston, The Pottery from KV 32, in: H. Jenni, A. Dorn, E. Paulin-Grothe, Das Grab der Königin Tiaa im Tal der Könige (KV 32), Swiss Egyptological Studies 1 (Basel/Frankfurt am Main 2021) 70–100.
  • D. Aston, Pottery recovered near the tombs of Seti I (KV17) and Siptah (KV 47) in the Valley of the Kings, Aegyptiaca Helvetica 24 (Basel 2015).
  • D. Aston, B. Aston, D. Ryan, Pottery from Tombs in the Valley of the Kings KV 21, 27, 28, 44, 45 and 60, Cahiers de la céramique égyptienne 6, 2000, 11–38.

Principal investigator

David Aston

Die moderne Bearbeitung der gut datierbaren Keramik aus verschiedenen Gräbern des Neuen Reiches (ca. 1550–1000 v. Chr.) im Tal der Könige leistet einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Feindatierung der Gebrauchszeiträume des keramischen Inventars in ganz Ägypten.

Während der Blütezeit der Erforschung des Tals der Könige, beginnend mit der Untersuchung durch Eugene Lefèbvre im Jahr 1883 und endend mit Howard Carters Entdeckung des Tutanchamun im Jahr 1922, wurde eine große Anzahl von unbeschrifteten und offensichtlich ausgeraubten Gräbern aus der 18. Dynastie entdeckt. Das fragmentarische Material aus diesen Gräbern war für die frühen Forscher von geringem Interesse und wurde meist nur summarisch untersucht und in situ belassen. Seit den 1980er-Jahren begann die Tacoma Pacific Lutheran University unter der Leitung von Donald Ryan, einige dieser Gräber (KV 21, 27, 28, 44, 45, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 60) erneut zu untersuchen, und in den letzten beiden Jahrzehnten legte die Universität Basel unter der Leitung von Hanna Jenni (KV 32) und Susanne Bickel (KV 26, 30, 31, 33, 37, 38, 40, 59, 64) weitere Gräber systematisch wieder frei. Im Rahmen dieses Projekts wurden die verbliebenen Keramikfunde nun systematisch erfasst.

Die Keramik aus den übrigen Gräbern befindet sich in der Aufarbeitung. Darüber hinaus wurde mir dank der Großzügigkeit von Otto Schaden (†), Salima Ikram und dem Amenmesse Tomb Project auch die Keramik aus dem intakten Grab KV 63 anvertraut, deren Publikation ebenfalls zu gegebener Zeit erscheinen wird.

Publikationen

Publikationen

KV 21, 27, 28, 44, 45 und 60 erschienen in einem Artikel, der vor zwanzig Jahren veröffentlicht wurde, während der Rest im Prozess der Veröffentlichung ist. KV 32 wird Anfang 2021 erscheinen, während KV 40 und KV 64 bald darauf folgen werden (siehe unten).

  • D. Aston, The Pottery, in: S. Bickel (ed.), Räuber – Priester – Königskinder. Die Gräber KV 40 und KV 64 im Tal der Könige, Band 1. Die beschrifteten Objekte der 18. Dynastie und die Keramik. Swiss Egyptological Studies 2 (Basel/Frankfurt am Main in press).
  • D. Aston, The Pottery from KV 32, in: H. Jenni, A. Dorn, E. Paulin-Grothe, Das Grab der Königin Tiaa im Tal der Könige (KV 32), Swiss Egyptological Studies 1 (Basel/Frankfurt am Main 2021) 70–100.
  • D. Aston, Pottery recovered near the tombs of Seti I (KV17) and Siptah (KV 47) in the Valley of the Kings, Aegyptiaca Helvetica 24 (Basel 2015).
  • D. Aston, B. Aston, D. Ryan, Pottery from Tombs in the Valley of the Kings KV 21, 27, 28, 44, 45 and 60, Cahiers de la céramique égyptienne 6, 2000, 11–38.

Projektleitung

David Aston

Laufzeit

seit 2012