(FWF project: I 3544-G25, 01.07.2018-31.08.2022)

“The Legacy of the Psalms in Byzantine Poetry: Book Epigrams and Metrical Paraphrases” is a joint project of the Austrian Academy of Sciences and Ghent University. It is funded by the Austrian Science Fund (FWF, project I 3544) and the Research Foundation Flanders (FWO) and directed by PD Dr Andreas Rhoby (Vienna) and Professor Dr Kristoffel Demoen (Ghent). It aims to investigate the reception of the Psalms in two specific genres of Byzantine poetry, i.e. in metrical paratexts (book epigrams) and metrical paraphrases. In addition, the project will analyse the impact of the Psalms for Byzantine (religious) poetry as well as the context of poems dealing with the Psalms. More specifically, the aim of the project part carried out at the Austrian Academy of Sciences, Vienna, is to provide the first full critical edition of Manuel Philes’ Metaphrasis of the Psalms (of almost 3600 fifteen-syllable verses) (partly ed. by G. Stickler 1992).

The project started on July 1st, 2018 and will run until 2022.

The most important results will be:

+ An edition of the metrical metaphrasis of the Psalms of Manuel Philes (Team Vienna) (Byzantinisches Archiv, De Gruyter, 2023)

+ A monograph on book epigrams in Byzantine psalters (Team Ghent)

+ Workshops in Ghent (2020) and Vienna (2022)

Andreas Rhoby (project leader)

Anna Gioffreda (post-doc researcher, 01.07.2018-31.12.2020)

Ugo Mondini (post-doc researcher, 01.03.2021-31.08.2022)



A. Gioffreda - A. Rhoby, Die metrische Psalmenmetaphrase des Manuel Philes. Präliminarien zu einer kritischen Edition. Medioevo Greco 20 (2020) 119-141.

A. Gioffreda, I testimoni delle Metafrasi dei Salmi di Manuele File. Isidoro di Kiev, Gerardo di Patrasso e il suo sodale StamazioSegno e Testo 19 (2021) 339-370.


Cooperation Partners 

• Prof. Dr. Kristoffel Demoen (Universiteit Gent) • Dr. Rachele Ricceri (Universiteit Gent) • Dr. Felix Albrecht (Akademie der Wissenschaften zu Göttingen, project "Die Editio critica maior des griechischen Psalters").

Advisory Board

• Prof. Dr. Floris Bernard (Universiteit Gent) • Prof. Dr. Daniele Bianconi (Sapienza Università di Roma) • Dr. Dirk Krausmüller (Universität Wien) • Prof. Dr. Derek Krueger (University of North Carolina at Greensboro) • Dr. Krystina Kubina (Universität Wien) • Prof. Dr. Peter Orth (Universität zu Köln) • Dr. Georgi Parpulov (Akademie der Wissenschaften zu Göttingen) • Dr. Nikos Zagklas (Universität Wien)