Die arabischen Dialekte des Shawi-Typs

Am 1. Februar 2021 begann das vom FWF finanzierte Forschungsprojekt zu den arabischen Dialekten des sogenannten Shawi-Typs. Diese Dialekte werden von (ehemaligen) Kleinviehnomaden gesprochen und sind in der gesamten Region des Fruchtbaren Halbmondes verbreitet. Im Vergleich zu den regionalen Dialekten der ansässigen Bevölkerung sind die Shawi-Dialekte noch relativ wenig erforscht worden. Bisher gibt es noch für keinen einzigen dieser Dialekte eine ausführliche Grammatik oder ein umfangreicheres Wörterbuch.  

Der Schwerpunkt des SHAWI-Projekts liegt auf der Erforschung der Sprache der arabischen Minderheit in der südosttürkischen Region Harran-Urfa. Darüber hinaus werden auch Daten von Sprecherinnen und Sprechern in Syrien und im Irak erhoben. Das Projekt hat drei hauptsächliche Ziele: (1) Die Erstellung einer umfangreichen Textsammlung, die auf Audioaufnahmen basiert, (2) eine umfassende grammatikalische Darstellung des Dialekts, und (3) ein digitales Lexikon. 

Projektleiter ist Stephan Procházka, Institut für Orientalistik der Universität Wien, nationaler Forschungspartner ist Karlheinz Mörth, Forschungsdirektor des „Austrian Centre for Digital Humanities and Cultural Heritage“ der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften. 

Kontakt

Stephan Procházka (University of Vienna, Institute for Oriental Studies)
Karlheinz Mörth (ÖAW, ACDH-CH)

Projektlaufzeit

01. Februar 2021 - 28. Februar 2025

Twitter 

#SHAWI

The Shawi-type Arabic dialects spoken in South-eastern Anatolia and the Middle Euphrates region

The FWF financed project on the Arabic dialects of the so-called Shawi-type started on the 1st of February 2021. This type of Arabic dialects is spoken by small cattle breeding Bedouin tribes in various regions of the Fertile Crescent. Compared to the sedentary dialects of the region, the number of studies that provide linguistic data on Shawi dialects is still relatively small and there exists neither a comprehensive grammar nor a dictionary for any particular variety.  

The focus of the SHAWI-project is on the Arabic minority variety spoken in the Harran-Urfa region of Southeastern Turkey. Moreover, linguistic data from speakers in Syria and Iraq will be collected. The project aims to provide three main contributions: (1) a text corpus based on audio recordings, (2) a comprehensive grammar, and (3) a digital dictionary. The basis of all three contributions is new data gathered from the field.  

The project is lead by Stephan Procházka, Institute of Oriental Studies, University of Vienna; Karlheinz Mörth, research director of the Austrian Centre for Digital Humanities and Cultural Heritage of the Austrian Academy of Sciences, acts as the national research partner.  

 

Contacts

Stephan Procházka (University of Vienna, Institute for Oriental Studies)
Karlheinz Mörth (ÖAW, ACDH-CH)

 

Project duration

01 February 2021 - 28 February 2025

Twitter 

#SHAWI