The conference of the institute directors (IDK) advises on common concerns of the OeAW institutes and assists the Academy with its planning.

The IDK comprises the Directors of the OeAW institutes and the scientific managing directors of the independent units (GmbHs). The board of the IDK consists of the Chairperson, his or her deputy plus two further board members.

Present Board of the IDK


Alexandra N. Lenz, Austrian Centre for Digital Humanities and Cultural Heritage

Vice Chairperson:

Jürgen Eckert, Erich Schmid Institute of Materials Science

Board members:

Birgit Kellner, Institute for the Cultural and Intellectual History of Asia

Markus Aspelmeyer, Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information - Vienna


For further information on the IDK see the By-laws of the OeAW.