A Senate assists the Academy with fundamental issues. Its tasks also include promoting the Academy’s public work.

Members of the OeAW Senate

Wolfgang Sobotka (Chair)
President of the Austrian National Council

Michael Häupl
Former mayor of Vienna

Christoph Grabenwarter
President of the Austrian Constitutional Court

Johanna Rachinger
Director-General of the Austrian National Library

Delegate of the Austrian Council for Research and Technology Development

Antonio Loprieno
Chairman of the Austrian Science Board

Jürgen Kocka
WZB – Berlin Social Science Center

Cattina Leitner
Of Counsel at DORDA Attorneys at Law and Chair of the University Board of the WU Vienna

Roman Necina
Chief Technology Officer, Hookipa Biotech GmbH


For further information see the Statute of the OeAW.