The Hannes Androsch Foundation at the OeAW supports research on “Arbeit und Festigung des sozialen Ausgleichs und Friedens”. To this end the Foundation awards the Hannes Androsch Prize, to the tune of € 100,000.


The Hannes Androsch Prize is awarded in recognition of an outstanding scientific contribution to the controversial question of “Die Gestaltung eines Sozialversicherungssystems, das der zweifachen Gefährdung durch demografische Entwicklung und Finanzmarktrisiken standhält”. In 2011 the prize Markus Knell for his work “Pay-As-You-Go – A Relic from the Past or a Promise for the Future?”. 


Named after its founder, Hannes Androsch, the institution is the most important private charitable foundation for the promotion of science and research in Austria. 


Hannes Androsch (Vorsitz)
Heinz Faßmann (stv. Vorsitz)
Ulrike Diebold
Jürgen Rauchwarter

Scientific advisory board

Christian Keuschnigg
Karl Aiginger
Reinhart Kögerler
Wilhelm Schneider
Hans Sünkel
Oswald Wagner

Hannes Androsch laureate

Markus Knell was born in 1968 and studied Philosophy, Sociology and Economics at the University of Vienna, the University of California (San Diego) and the University of Zurich. He was a Universitätsassistent at the University of Vienna and the University of Zurich and now works for the department for economic research at the Oesterreichische Nationalbank.


Knell's work takes both a theoretical and empirical approach to the design of a system of social security that is resistant to demographic transformation and the risks of the financial market.