Sweden, Belgium and Austria are setting up a learning network to evaluate and promote local initiatives for sustainable energy supply

City districts and neighbourhoods with a positive energy balance – so-called positive energy districts (PED) – are considered a promising concept for putting the energy transition into practice at the local level. In this project, five European examples are being studied and proposals for the further development of PEDs are being developed. 

Implementing PEDs is particularly challenging, as they require fundamental changes in the way cities are planned, designed and maintained in the long term. The TRANS-PED project aims to develop a new governance approach that can be adopted and further developed by future PED actors.

Learning network integrates existing experiences

This approach is based on the experiences of local actors, as well as on existing scientific knowledge, and is intended to help implement profound system changes in practice. The two-year pilot project will establish a learning network of PED actors in Sweden, Belgium and Austria and create a common set of tools and approaches. The project partners will engage in a series of online and face-to-face activities to jointly develop different methodologies for embedding, evaluating and scaling energy innovations. The outcomes resulting from the project are expected to contribute to the formation of an international community of PED actors, which will serve as a basis for the development and dissemination of European PEDs in the coming decades.

The project consortium includes eleven research institutions and practice partners from Sweden, Belgium and Austria. The project, funded by the Urban Europe programme, is led by the University of Stockholm. The Institute of Technology Assessment (ITA) of the Austrian Academy of Sciences is responsible for investigating the possible consequences and risks of PEDs and coordinates the national project partners. The other partners in Austria are the FH Technikum Wien, StadtLABOR Graz, Kleboth und Dollnig ZT GmbH and Urban Future UFGC GmbH.

Duration

04/2021 – 03/2023

Project Team

Funding

Partner

Schweden, Belgien und Österreich initiieren ein Lernnetzwerk zur Bewertung und Verbreitung von lokalen Initiativen für eine nachhaltige Energieversorgung

Stadtteile und Nachbarschaften mit positiver Energiebilanz – sogenannte Plusenergiequartiere oder auch Positive Energy Districts (PED) – gelten als ein vielversprechendes Konzept für die Umsetzung der Energiewende auf lokaler Ebene. In diesem Projekt werden fünf europäische Beispiele untersucht und es werden Vorschläge für die weitere Entwicklung von Plusenergiequartiere erstellt.

Die Umsetzung von PEDs stellt eine besondere Herausforderung dar, da sie grundlegende Veränderungen in der Art und Weise erfordern, wie Städte langfristig geplant, gestaltet und erhalten werden. Ziel des Projekts TRANS-PED ist die Entwicklung eines neuen Governance-Ansatzes, der von zukünftigen PED-Akteuren übernommen und weiterentwickelt werden kann.

Lernnetzwerk verbindet vorhandene Erfahrungen

Dieser Ansatz beruht auf den Erfahrungen von lokalen Akteuren ebenso wie auf dem bereits vorhandenen wissenschaftlichen Wissen und soll dazu beitragen, tiefgreifende Systemveränderungen in der Praxis umzusetzen. Im Rahmen des zweijährigen Pilotprojekts wird ein Lernnetzwerk von PED-Akteuren in Schweden, Belgien und Österreich aufgebaut und ein gemeinsames Set von Instrumenten und Ansätzen erstellt. Die Projektpartner werden sich an einer Reihe von Online- und Präsenzaktivitäten beteiligen, um gemeinsam verschiedene Methoden für die Einbettung, Bewertung und Skalierung von Energieinnovationen zu entwickeln. Die aus dem Projekt resultierenden Ergebnisse sollen zur Bildung einer internationalen Gemeinschaft von PED-Akteuren beitragen, die als Grundlage für die Entwicklung und Verbreitung europäischer PEDs in den kommenden Jahrzehnten dienen soll.

Das Projektkonsortium umfasst elf Forschungseinrichtungen und Praxispartner aus Schweden, Österreich und Belgien. Geleitet wird das vom Programm Urban Europe geförderte Projekt von der Universität Stockholm. Das Institut für Technikfolgen-Abschätzung (ITA) der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften ist für die Erforschung der möglichen Folgen und Risiken von Plusenergiequartieren verantwortlich und koordiniert die nationalen Projektpartner. Die weiteren Partner in Österreich sind die FH Technikum Wien, das StadtLABOR Graz, Kleboth und Dollnig ZT GmbH und Urban Future UFGC GmbH.

Laufzeit

04/2021 – 03/2023

Projektteam

LINKS

Projekthomepage: trans-ped.eu

Finanzierung

Partner