The „Microsymposium on RNA Biology“ is an international conference that brings together young scientists, junior and senior group leaders, and company representatives from all over the world to present and discuss their latest findings in the exciting field of small RNAs and beyond. The Microsymposium was founded in 2005 and has established itself as the major small RNA meeting in Europe. It is organized by the four research institutions IMBAIMPGMI and the Max Perutz Labs as well as by the RNA community of the Vienna BioCenter. 

In all three eukaryotic kingdoms, small regulatory RNAs play a key role in the silencing of gene expression at the post-transcriptional and the transcriptional level. They have central functions in the repression of viruses and transposons and they play essential roles in coordinating organismal development, physiological processes and human diseases, such as cancer.

To strengthen the focus on the new generation of scientists, the Microsymposium invites—besides established leaders in the field— postdocs and PhD students (selected from submitted poster abstracts) as speakers. This allows the up-and-coming scientists to present their projects and results to a highly qualified, engaged and dynamic audience and is a major distinguishing factor from other conferences.

Stay updated

To get updates about the Microsymposium, please provide us with your email address here and look out for the official event # on social media: #microsymposium2024 

We will regularly update this website with new details on speakers, registration, poster sessions, sponsors and networking opportunities.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us.


Tugce AKTAS, Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics

David BARTEL, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Alex BORODAVKA, University of Cambridge

Marc BUEHLER, Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research

Javier CACERES, University of Edinburgh

Alfredo CASTELLO, University of Glasgow

Yiliang DING, John Innes Centre

Marco HEIN, Max Perutz Labs

Marko JOVANOVIC, Columbia University

Liz KELLOGG, Cornell University

Danny NEDIALKOVA, Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry

Irma QUERQUES, Max Perutz Labs

Peter SARKIES, University of Oxford

Evelina TUTUCCI, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Steven WEST, University of Exeter

Feng ZHANG, McGovern Institute


Stefan Ameres  (Max Perutz Labs)

Julius Brennecke  (IMBA)

Sebastian Falk  (Max Perutz Labs)

Arturo Marí-Ordóñez  (GMI)

Javier Martínez (Max Perutz Labs)

Andrea Pauli  (IMP)

Clemens Plaschka  (IMP)



We would like to thank all companies that have kindly sponsored this symposium. 
If you are interested in becoming a sponsor please contact: