SY-Stem - a symposium focusing on the next generation of stem cell researchers – is an annual meeting, located in the beautiful city of Vienna. It is organized jointly by the Research Institute of Molecular Pathology (IMP) and Institute of Molecular Biotechnology (IMBA).

In this two-and-a-half-day event, recognized keynote speakers, as well as aspiring young group leaders will discuss the latest advances in stem cell biology in an informal and collaborative setting. Our goal is to strengthen a cooperative and dynamic spirit in this research area.


The 2024 sessions include the following topics:

Early embryogenesis

Neural lineage specification

Nervous systems development

Brain disease and regeneration

Novel technologies


The registration  is open! 

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us.




Magdalena GötzHelmholtz Munich

Hiro NakauchiStanford Medicine


Daniel Del Toro, University of Barcelona

Claudia Gerri, Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics

Mina Gouti, Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine

Joanna Jachowicz, Institute of Molecular Biotechnology

Johan Jakobsson, Lund University

Shawn Je, Duke-NUS Medical School

Marisa Karow, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU)

Eyal Karzbrun, Weizmann Institute of Science

Vicki Metzis, Imperial College London

Kirstin Meyer, University of California San Francisco

In-Hyun Park, Yale Stem Cell Center

Minhee Park, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST)

Berna Sozen, Yale School of Medicine

Xavier Trepat, Institute for Bioengineering of Catalonia

Fides Zenk, École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)

Peter Zeller, Hubrecht Institute

Jan ŻyliczUniversity of Copenhagen



Scientific Organizers

Elly Tanaka (IMP) - Juergen Knoblich (IMBA)

Christa Buecker (Max Perutz Labs) -  Sofia Grade (IMBA) - Joanna Jachowicz (IMBA) Bon-Kyoung Koo (IBS Center for Genome Engineering)

PhD student organizers: Daria Filipczak (Foisner Lab at Max Perutz Labs) & Theresa Sommer (Rivron lab at IMBA)



We would like to thank all companies that have kindly sponsored this symposium. 
If you are interested in becoming a sponsor please contact: lea.klement@imba.oeaw.ac.at

Previous Meetings

SY-Stem 2020

Cancelled due to the Coronavirus outbreak