Time line

  • 1985
    Technology assessment working group as part of a pre-existing research institute, the latter being renamed Institute for Socio-Economic development, Resarch and Technology Assessment (ISET), Director: Ernest Braun
  • 1987
    Foundation of the Technology Assessment Commission
    Conversion into the Technology Assessment Unit (TAU)
  • 1991
    New Director: Gunther Tichy
  • 1993
    Associate member of European Parliamentary Technology Assessment (EPTA)
  • 1994
    Conversion and renaming as Institute of Technology Assessment (ITA)
  • 2001
    Organisation of the institute's first international TA conference (TA01)
  • 2004
    Founding member of the German-speaking Network Technology Assessment (NTA)
  • 2005
    Symposium "20 Years TA in Austria" (TA05)
  • 2006
    New Director: Michael Nentwich
    Spin-off of the Health Technology Assessment (HTA) group, foundation of a Ludwig Boltzmann Institute
  • 2008
    Local organisation of the 3rd conference of the Network Technology Assessment NTA3 together with TA08
    1st meeting of the new international Scientific Advisory Board
  • 2009
    ITA becomes part of the European Technology Assessment Group (ETAG) for the European Parliament
  • 2013
    ITA becomes full member in the European Parliamentary Technology Assessment (EPTA) network
  • 2017
    Framework agreement on foresight and technology assessment with the Austrian Parliament
  • 2019
    Founding member of the globalTA network
  • 2021
    20th annual conference together with the 9th conference of the Network Technology Assessment (NTA)

Further reading

Three decades of institutionalised TA in Austria

Michael Nentwich & Daniela Fuchs (ITA-manu:script 2021)

how it all began