Grants, Awards and honors are important parameters for measuring scientific excellence.  At IMBA scientists are empowered to perform at their best and have demonstrated extraordinary achievements in research.


The European Research Council (ERC) was founded by the EU in 2007 to fund outstanding science. 10 years later, ERC grants stand out as the most prestigious award for high quality research in Europe. The sole selection criterion for an ERC grant is scientific excellence. The process is so competitive that only 11% of applications are funded, however, at IMBA and the Vienna BioCenter the success rate is higher than 60%.

At IMBA several groups are funded by an ERC grant.

The Vienna BioCenter celebrates ERC's 10-year anniversary


Election to EMBO Membership is recognition of research excellence and the outstanding achievements made by a life scientist. 85 EMBO Members and Associate Members have been awarded Nobel Prizes. The annual nominations and elections ensure that the membership remains at the forefront of life science research. The EMBO Membership currently comprises more than 1700 life scientists.

At IMBA, several Group leaders are elected EMBO members or were appointed EMBO Young Investigators.



Year Award Institution Person Group
2021VBC PhD AwardVienna BioCenterMitter MichaelGerlich
2021Prize of the City of ViennaCity of ViennaKnoblich JürgenKnoblich
2020Member of the Board of DirectorsISSCRKnoblich JürgenKnoblich
2020Appointed MemberPontifical Academy of SciencesKnoblich JürgenKnoblich
2020Marie Skłodowska-Curie Individual FellowshipEuropean CommissionVertesy ÁbelKnoblich
2020Marie Skłodowska-Curie Individual FellowshipEuropean CommissionTrepte PhilippKnoblich
2020Marie Skłodowska-Curie Individual FellowshipEuropean CommissionHohmann UlrichBrennecke
2020ERC Consolidator GrantEuropean Research CouncilRivron NicolasRivron
2019ERC Starting GrantEuropean Research CouncilBurga AlejandroBurga
2019ERC Consolidator GrantEuropean Research CouncilAmeres StefanAmeres
2019Special Research Programmes (SFBs)Austrian Science Fund (FWF)Knoblich JürgenKnoblich
2019Special Research Programmes (SFBs)Austrian Science Fund (FWF)Urbán NoeliaUrbán
2019Special Research Programmes (SFBs)Austrian Science Fund (FWF)Ameres StefanAmeres
2019Elisabeth Lutz PrizeOeAW - Austrian Academy of SciencesWimmer ReinerPenninger
2019Kirsten Peter Rabitsch AwardIMP - IMBABatki JuliaBrennecke
2019Women in ScienceL'Oreal AustriaGassler JohannaTachibana
2018HFSP young investigator grantInternational Human Frontier Science Program OrganizationKoo BonkyoungKoo
2018Project lead of a prestigious HFSP program grantInternational Human Frontier Science Program Organization (HFSP)Tachibana KikueTachibana
2018ERC Proof of Concept GrantEuropean Research CouncilAmeres StefanAmeres
2018Elected MemberEMBOTachibana KikueTachibana