The Commission for the Legal History of Austria (Kommission für Rechtsgeschichte Österreichs - KRGÖ) looks back on a tradition of legal history commissions at the Austrian Academy of Sciences (Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften - ÖAW) that goes back over one hundred and fifty years. The KRGÖ itself was established in 2014, initially for a limited period of three years and then indefinitely, and consists of five Academy members and nine other academics from the universities of Graz, Innsbruck, Linz, Salzburg and Vienna. All members carry out their work on an honorary basis.


Thomas Olechowski
OEAW / University Vienna

Herbert Kalb
University Linz

Gerhard Ammerer
Paris Lodron University Salzburg

Elisabeth Greif
University Linz

Gabriele Haug-Moritz
OEAW / University Graz

Gerald Kohl
University Vienna

Christian Neschwara
University Vienna

Eva Ortlieb
University Graz

Ilse Reiter-Zatloukal
University Vienna

Philipp Scheibelreiter
OEAW / University Vienna

Martin Schennach
University Innsbruck

Arno Strohmeyer
OEAW / University Salzburg

Ewald Wiederin
OEAW / University Vienna

Anita Ziegerhofer
University Graz

former members

Ogris Werner, Obmann der KRGÖ 1995-2010, Obmann-Stv. 2010-2012

Auer Leopold, Mitglied der KRGÖ 2003-2012

August Ernst, Obmann-Stv. der KRGÖ 1995-2002

Baltl Hermann, Mitglied der KRGÖ 1995-2004

Brauneder Wilhelm, Mitglied der KRGÖ 1995-2006

Bruckmüller Ernst, Mitglied der KRGÖ 2006-2008

Burmeister Karl-Heinz, Mitglied der KRGÖ 1995-1996

Faußner Hans, Mitglied der KRGÖ 1995-2004

Feigl Helmut, Mitglied der KRGÖ 1995-2006

Floßmann Ursula, Mitglied der KRGÖ 1996-2012

Grass Nikolaus, Mitglied der KRGÖ 1995-1996

Kocher Gernot, Mitglied der KRGÖ 1996-2010, Obmann-Stv. 2003-2010

Matis Herbert, Mitglied der KRGÖ 2010-2012, 2015-2017

Mayer-Maly Theo, Mitglied der KRGÖ 1995-2005

Pickl Othmar, Mitglied der KRGÖ 1995-1996

Stourzh Gerald, Mitglied der KRGÖ 2003-2006

Thür Gerhard, Mitglied der KRGÖ 2003-2012, 2015-2017

Walter-Klingenstein Grete, Mitglied der KRGÖ 2003-2006

Wesener Gunter, Mitglied der KRGÖ 1995-2012, 2015-2023

Winkelbauer Thomas, Mitglied der KRGÖ 2008-2012, 2015-2022