The third round of ESQ grants has been awarded

The Erwin Schrödinger Center for Quantum Science & Technology is funding five more young researchers as well as five more innovative research projects by altogether one million euros.

Five more ESQ fellowship grants funded by the Research Ministry as well as the European Commission could now be awarded.

This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under the Marie Skłodowska-Curie grant agreement No 801110 and the Austrian Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research (BMBWF).

Five young researchers won the international and highly competitive third round of ESQ Fellowships, which will allow them to do high-profile research at the Austrian Academy of Sciences (ÖAW), TU Wien or the University of Innsbruck for two years each.


At the same time the ESQ Discovery Programme was again advertised nationally asking for applications for innovative research projects including radically new ideas and high-risk projects.

Five researchers won the highly competitive third round of ESQ Discovery Projects, which will allow them to do high-profile research at the Austrian Academy of Sciences (ÖAW), Vienna University of Technology (TU Wien) and the University of Vienna for a maximum of 12 months. The projects are funded by a maximum of € 100,000 each.


Our winners of the third round of ESQ Postdoc Grants 2019 are:



ESQ Host

Sebastian Erne

University of Nottingham

Vienna University of Technology (Schmiedmayer)

Giovanni Cerchiari

University of Innsbruck

Innsbruck University (Blatt)

Stefan Putz

Princeton University

Vienna University (Arndt)

Simon Milz

Monash University Melbourne

IQOQI Vienna/ÖAW (Huber)

Mateus De Araujo Santos

University of Cologne

IQOQI Vienna/ÖAW (Huber)


Our winners of the third round of ESQ Discovery Projects 2019 are:

Project leader

Project title

ESQ Host

Philipp Haslinger

Quantum Klystron

Vienna University of Technology

Michael Trupke

Electrical Readout of Levitated Superconducting Particles (ELISA)

Vienna University

Klemens Schüppert

Ion Trap Technology

Innsbruck University

Emil Kirilov

Strong electric dipole moments provided by dysprosium atoms

Innsbruck University

Marcus Huber and Jörg Schmiedmayer

Emergence of physical laws: From mathematical foundations to applications in many body physics

IQOQI Vienna, Vienna University of Technology



ESQ Office
Austrian Academy of Sciences (ÖAW)
Atena Zalbeik-Dormayer
Boltzmanngasse 5
1090 Vienna