Markus Arndt wins Schrödinger Prize 2020

The Erwin-Schrödinger Prize is one of the highest prizes awarded by the Austrian Academy of Sciences. It is awarded to scientists working in Austria in the fields of mathematics and natural sciences. The prize is named after Noble Prize laureate, physicist Erwin Schrödinger, amounts to Euro 15,000 and is awarded for outstanding research accomplishments.

The Erwin-Schrödinger Prize 2020 is awarded to physicist Markus Arndt and mathematician László Erdös in equal parts. Markus Arndt has been awarded for his experiments in quantum nano physics and his achievement to develop matter wave interferometry into a high sensitive measuring method.


For more information see




This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under the Marie Skłodowska-Curie grant agreement No 801110.

ESQ has received funding from the Austrian Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research (BMBWF).



ESQ office
Austrian Academy of Sciences (ÖAW)
Mag.ª Isabelle Walters
Boltzmanngasse 5
1090 Vienna