Mission Statement


The Phonogrammarchiv was founded in 1899. Its key tasks are to generate, collect and catalogue audio-visual research recordings from all disciplines and regions, to preserve them in the long term, and to make them permanently available. In archiving, the Phonogrammarchiv pays particular attention to the source-critical annotation of the recorded materials, as this provides the added value ensuring the possibility of multi-faceted modes of analysis.

The Phonogrammarchiv has built up, and expands, its holdings through field research projects that have received its methodological and technical support, through fieldwork conducted by its staff, and by taking over collections assembled by Austrian scholars, typically all exploring new ground.

Likewise, the Phonogrammarchiv has always been engaged in methodological and technical developments pertaining to the making, replaying, and storing of audio and video recordings, which also led to today’s expertise in making playable, transferring and digitizing historical sound carriers.

Access to the Phonogrammarchiv’s collections is also promoted by publications and specific editions of recordings (e.g. TheComplete Historical Collections 1899–1950).

The Phonogrammarchiv is therefore characterized by its interlocking fields of activity, which fact is reflected also by the interdisciplinary composition of its team (African studies, history, ethnomusicology, cultural and social anthropology, linguistics, AV technology, IT).

In accordance with its agenda, the Phonogrammarchiv is thus a research institute anchored in the scholarly world as well as an archive serving general societal interests that greatly contributes to the documentation and preservation of cultural heritage.

MISSION STATEMENT


Die zentralen Aufgaben des 1899 gegründeten Phonogrammarchivs (PhA) bestehen in der Herstellung, Sammlung, Erschließung, langfristigen Bewahrung und einer damit zu erzielenden, dauernden Verfügbarkeit von wissenschaftlichen Schall- und Videoaufnahmen aller Disziplinen und ohne regionale Einschränkungen. Besonderes Augenmerk wird auf die quellenkritische Erschließung und Annotierung der archivierten Aufnahmen gelegt, wodurch jener Mehrwert geschaffen wird, der eine weitere und möglichst vielfältige Auswertung gestattet.

Das PhA vermehrt seine Bestände durch die methodische und technische Unterstützung von Forschungsprojekten, durch die Übernahme von Sammlungen österreichischer ForscherInnen sowie durch eigene Forschungsprojekte, die in inhaltlicher und methodischer Hinsicht Neuland betreten.

Seit jeher werden methodische und technische Entwicklungen zur Aufnahme, Wiedergabe und Speicherung von Audio- und Videoaufnahmen vorangetrieben, die sich heute insbesondere in einer Spezialisierung auf die Spielbarmachung, Übertragung und Digitalisierung historischer Tonträger äußert.

Die Verfügbarkeit der Sammlungen wird durch Publikationen und spezifische Editionsreihen (z.B. jene der historischen Bestände 1899–1950) befördert.

Die Tätigkeiten des PhA zeichnen sich somit durch ein Ineinandergreifen der verschiedensten Arbeitsbereiche aus, was sich in der interdisziplinären Zusammensetzung seines Teams (Afrikawissenschaften, Geschichte, Musikwissenschaft, Musikethnologie, Kultur- und Sozialanthropologie, Linguistik, Audio- und Videotechnik sowie IT) niederschlägt.

Analog zu den bezeichneten Aufgabenbereichen ist das Phonogrammarchiv sowohl ein Forschungsinstitut als auch ein den Wissenschaften im Konkreten und dem regionalen wie globalen öffentlichen Interesse im Allgemeinen verpflichtetes Archiv, das wesentlich zur Dokumentation und Erhaltung des kulturellen Erbes beiträgt.