Grants, Awards and honors are important parameters for measuring scientific excellence.  At IMBA scientists are empowered to perform at their best and have demonstrated extraordinary achievements in research.


The European Research Council (ERC) was founded by the EU in 2007 to fund outstanding science. 10 years later, ERC grants stand out as the most prestigious award for high quality research in Europe. The sole selection criterion for an ERC grant is scientific excellence. The process is so competitive that only 11% of applications are funded, however, at IMBA and the Vienna BioCenter the success rate is higher than 60%.

At IMBA several groups are funded by an ERC grant.

The Vienna BioCenter celebrates ERC's 10-year anniversary


Election to EMBO Membership is recognition of research excellence and the outstanding achievements made by a life scientist. 85 EMBO Members and Associate Members have been awarded Nobel Prizes. The annual nominations and elections ensure that the membership remains at the forefront of life science research. The EMBO Membership currently comprises more than 1700 life scientists.

At IMBA, several Group leaders are elected EMBO members or were appointed EMBO Young Investigators.



Year Award Institution Person Group
20221st Prize PhD WorkshopMicrosymposiumBaumgartner LisaBrennecke
2023Alfred Hauptmann Prize, category Basic ResearchGerman, Austrian, and Swiss Societies for Epilepsy ResearchJürgen Knoblich, Nina Corsini & Oliver EichmüllerKnoblich
2006Annual AwardAustrian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular BiologyHutterer AndreaKnoblich
2020Appointed MemberPontifical Academy of SciencesKnoblich JürgenKnoblich
2009ASMR MedalAustralian Society for Medical ResearchPenninger JosefPenninger
2004Austria'04 AwardPenninger JosefPenninger
2014Award in the field of MedicineCity of ViennaPenninger JosefPenninger
2014Best Paper AwardJubilee Fund of the City of Vienna for the Austrian Academy of SciencesLancaster MadelineKnoblich
2017Best Paper AwardOeAW - Austrian Academy of SciencesLadstätter SabrinaTachibana-Konwalski
2013Best Paper AwardJubiläumsfonds der Stadt Wien for the Austrian Academy of Sciences (OeAW)Donertas DeryaBrennecke
2013Best Paper AwardJubiläumsfonds der Stadt Wien for the Austrian Academy of Sciences (OeAW)Sienski GrzegorzBrennecke
2011Best Poster Prize3rd Annual Eurosystem Consortium Meeting, PragueRolland VivienKnoblich
2010Best Poster Prize at "Analysis and Engineering of Biomolecular SystemsFEBSRodriguez Jesus FernandezMarlovits
2010Best Poster Prize at the International meeting "Actin Dynamics"German society for cell biologyVinzenz MarleneSmall
2010Best Selected Talk at "Analysis and Engineering of Biomolecular Systems"FEBSRodriguez Jesus FernandezMarlovits
2008Best Supervising TutorGEN-AU SummerSchoolSchramek DanielPenninger
2008Best Supervising Tutor AwardGEN-AU SummerSchoolPospisilik AndrewPenninger
2008Best Supervising Tutor AwardGEN-AU SummerSchoolMeixner ArabellaPenninger
2007BioRad European RNAi Research AwardWeitzer StefanMartinez
2007BioRad European RNAi Research AwardMartinez JavierMartinez