Grants, Awards and honors are important parameters for measuring scientific excellence.  At IMBA scientists are empowered to perform at their best and have demonstrated extraordinary achievements in research.


The European Research Council (ERC) was founded by the EU in 2007 to fund outstanding science. 10 years later, ERC grants stand out as the most prestigious award for high quality research in Europe. The sole selection criterion for an ERC grant is scientific excellence. The process is so competitive that only 11% of applications are funded, however, at IMBA and the Vienna BioCenter the success rate is higher than 60%.

At IMBA several groups are funded by an ERC grant.

The Vienna BioCenter celebrates ERC's 10-year anniversary


Election to EMBO Membership is recognition of research excellence and the outstanding achievements made by a life scientist. 85 EMBO Members and Associate Members have been awarded Nobel Prizes. The annual nominations and elections ensure that the membership remains at the forefront of life science research. The EMBO Membership currently comprises more than 1700 life scientists.

At IMBA, several Group leaders are elected EMBO members or were appointed EMBO Young Investigators.



Year Award Institution Person Group
2015Elected Member of the "Young Academy"Austrian Academy of SciencesAmeres StefanAmeres
2018Houska-AwardB&C Private FoundationAmeres StefanAmeres
2018ERC Proof of Concept GrantEuropean Research CouncilAmeres StefanAmeres
2013START PrizeAustrian Science Fund (FWF)Ameres StefanAmeres
2019Special Research Programmes (SFBs)Austrian Science Fund (FWF)Ameres StefanAmeres
2013ERC Starting GrantEuropean Research CouncilAmeres StefanAmeres
2017Life Science Call 2017 - Chemical BiologyVienna Science, Research and Technology Fund (WWTF)Ameres StefanAmeres
2016Selected for the Young Investigator Program (YIP)EMBOAmeres StefanAmeres
2019ERC Consolidator GrantEuropean Research CouncilAmeres StefanAmeres
2009Third Prize in FameLab finalsFameLab UK, Cheltenham, GBAronica LuciaMochizuki
2009FameLab Austria AwardFameLab AustriaAronica LuciaMochizuki
2011VBC Summer School Prize (Sponsor: BD Biosciences)Vienna BiocenterBarisic DarkoMartinez
2019Kirsten Peter Rabitsch AwardIMP - IMBABatki JuliaBrennecke
20221st Prize PhD WorkshopMicrosymposiumBaumgartner LisaBrennecke
2022EMBO Reports Speaker PrizeEMBO ReportsBaumgartner LisaBrennecke
2013OeAW Impulse Program AwardNew Frontiers GroupBell OliverBell
2014Career Development AwardInternational Human Frontier Science Program Organization (HFSP)Bell OliverBell
2005VBC PhD AwardVienna BiocenterBetschinger JörgKnoblich
2004PhD Thesis AwardAustrian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular BiologyBetschinger JörgKnoblich
2007VBC PhD AwardVienna BiocenterBowman SarahKnoblich