To promote international research on the Early Jesuit Drama

The aim of the project is to properly record a part of the estate of the theater scholar w.M. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Margret Dietrich (1920–2004) to systematically inventorize and save a portion of it in the form of scanned files in order to support future international research projects.

A large part of Dietrich's estate relates to the Jesuit mission, the veneration of Franz Xavier and the early modern Jesuit drama with reference to Japan. In this context, the project is being carried out in collaboration with scientists from the Austrian Academy of Sciences and two Japanese universities.

At the end of her life, Margret Dietrich had prepared several publications that dealt with the image of Japan in early modern theater. Numerous documents preserved in her estate were used by Margret Dietrich to prepare these publications. In order to be able to bring to fruition her preparatory work in future international projects, to appreciate the previous research results on the reception of Japan in early modern theater and to present them to the public, appropriate archiving is necessary. A substantial part of Prof. Dietrich's estate consists of not only drafts of her own scientific work, but also transcriptions, translations, results of the analysis of unprinted sources, etc., some of which were carried out in cooperation with Otto Vicenzi (1914-2013), Thomas Immoos (1918-2001), Dorothea Weber and Andrea Sommer-Mathis. The result of this cooperation was the essay "Japanese Martyrs on the Stage of the Jesuit Theater" (1997) by Dorothea Weber, in which further planned publications on this topic were referred to.

Publications:  Akihiko Watanabe

Information

Team leader:
Akihiko Watanabe (Otsuma Woman’s University, Tokio)

Project staff (in alphabetical order):
Elisabeth Großegger (ÖAW, IKT), Haruka Oba (Kurume University, Fukuoka), Stefan Sienell (ÖAW, BAS:IS), Andrea Sommer-Mathis (ÖAW, IKT)

Student assistant:
Komari F. Tanaka (Universität Wien)

Funding:

Third-party funding: Otsuma Grant-in-Aid for Individual Exploratory Research of Otsuma Women’s University (seed money and inventory); research support of Kurume University (systematic recording)

Duration:
04.2020–03.2023 (planned)

Zur Förderung internationaler Forschungen zum Frühneuzeitlichen Jesuitendrama

In Kooperation mit Akihiko Watanabe (Otsuma Woman’s University, Tokio) und Haruka Oba (Kurume University, Fukuoka)

Ziel des Projektes ist es, einen Teil des Nachlasses der Theaterwissenschaftlerin w.M. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Margret Dietrich (1920–2004) zur Förderung künftiger internationaler Forschungsprojekte zu ordnen, systematisch zu erfassen und teilweise in Form von gescannten Dateien zu speichern.

Ein großer Teil von Dietrichs Nachlass bezieht sich auf die jesuitische Mission, die Verehrung von Franz Xaver und das frühneuzeitliche Jesuitendrama mit Japanbezug. In diesem Kontext wird das Projekt in Zusammenarbeit von Wissenschaftlern der ÖAW und zweier japanischer Universitäten durchgeführt.

Margret Dietrich hatte am Ende ihres Lebens einige Publikationen vorbereitet, die sich mit dem Japanbild im frühneuzeitlichen Theater beschäftigten. Zahlreiche in ihrem Nachlass erhaltene Dokumente dienten Margret Dietrich zur Vorbereitung dieser Publikationen. Um ihre Vorarbeiten in künftigen internationalen Projekten nachvollziehen zu können, die bisherigen Forschungsergebnisse zur Rezeption Japans im frühneuzeitlichen Theater zu würdigen und der Öffentlichkeit zu präsentieren, ist eine entsprechende Archivierung erforderlich. Der gegenständliche Teil des Nachlasses von Prof. Dietrich umfasst nicht nur die Niederschrift ihrer eigenen wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten, sondern auch Transkriptionen, Übersetzungen, Ergebnisse der Analyse ungedruckter Quellen, etc., die zum Teil in Kooperation mit Otto Vicenzi (1914-2013), Thomas Immoos (1918-2001), Dorothea Weber und Andrea Sommer-Mathis geleistet wurden. Als Ergebnis dieser Kooperation entstand der Aufsatz „Japanische Märtyrer auf der Bühne des Jesuitentheaters“ (1997) von Dorothea Weber, in dem auf weitere geplante Publikationen zu diesem Thema hingewiesen wurde.

Publikationen: Akihiko Watanabe


Information

Projektleiter:
Akihiko Watanabe (Otsuma Woman’s University, Tokio)

ProjektmitarbeiterInnen (in alphabetischer Reihenfolge):
Elisabeth Großegger (ÖAW, IKT), Haruka Oba (Kurume University, Fukuoka), Stefan Sienell (ÖAW, BAS:IS), Andrea Sommer-Mathis (ÖAW, IKT)

Studentische Hilfskraft:
Komari F. Tanaka (Universität Wien)

Finanzierung:

1. Drittmittel: Otsuma Grant-in-Aid for Individual Exploratory Research der Otsuma Woman’s University (für das Startkapital und die Kategorisierung)

2. Forschungsunterstützung der Kurume University (für die systematische Erfassung)

Projektdauer:
04.2020–03.2023 (geplant)