

Designing new materials to heal the body and detect diseases earlier

Molly Stevens

Professor, University of Oxford and Kavli Institute for Nanoscience Discovery

Monday, 13 May 2024, 6:00 pm Festive Hall, Austrian Academy of Sciences Dr.-Ignaz-Seipel-Platz 2, 1010 Vienna

Welcome and introduction by Giulio Superti-Furga, CeMM Denise P. Barlow Award Ceremony Cocktail reception RSVP by 3 May 2024: <u>www.cemm.at/landsteiner2024</u>



Molly Stevens

Professor, University of Oxford and Kavli Institute for Nanoscience Discovery

Molly Stevens is John Black Professor of Bionanoscience at the University of Oxford and also holds part-time professorships at Imperial College London and the Karolinska Institute.

She graduated with a First-Class Honours BPharm degree from Bath University in 1995 and a PhD from the University of Nottingham in 2001. After postdoctoral research in the Langer Lab at MIT, she joined Imperial College London in 2004 as a lecturer and was promoted to Professor in 2008 as one of the youngest Professors ever in the history of the institution.

Molly's multidisciplinary research balances the investigation of fundamental science with the development of technology to address some of the major healthcare challenges. She is a serial entrepreneur and the founder of several companies in the diagnostics, advanced therapeutics and regenerative medicine space. Her work has been instrumental in elucidating the biomaterial interfaces. She has created a broad portfolio of designer biomaterials for applications in disease diagnostics and regenerative medicine. Her substantial body of work influences research groups around the world.

Molly holds numerous leadership positions including Director of the UK Regenerative Medicine Platform "Smart Acellular Materials" Hub, Deputy Director of the EPSRC IRC in Early-Warning Sensing Systems for Infectious Diseases and Scientist Trustee of the National Gallery. She is Fellow of the Royal Society and the Royal Academy of Engineering (UK), Foreign Member of the National Academy of Engineering (USA) and International Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.