ESQ Faculty member Hannes Pichler wins New Hori­zons in Physics Prize

Theoretical physicist Hannes Pichler of the Department of Theoretical Physics at the University of Innsbruck, Austria, and the Institute of Quantum Optics and Quantum Information at the Austrian Academy of Sciences will be awarded the "New Horizons Prize in Physics" at the Breakthrough Prize Awards Ceremony. The $100,000 award is given to early-career scientists who have already made a significant impact on their field.

The Breakthrough Prize has been awarded since 2012 and is the world's most highly endowed science prize. In addition to the main prizes, the foundation created by Internet pioneers around Mark Zuckerberg also awards a number of prizes for young researchers.


For more information see:






This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under the Marie Skłodowska-Curie grant agreement No 801110.

ESQ has received funding from the Austrian Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research (BMBWF).



ESQ office
Austrian Academy of Sciences (ÖAW)
Atena Zalbeik-Dormayer
Boltzmanngasse 5
1090 Vienna