Fritz-Grasenick-Award 2020 for Dr. Inas Issa

Dr. Inas Issa received the “Fritz-Grasenick-Preis 2020” of the Austrian Society for Electron Microscopy (ASEM), and delivered an invited award speech during the 11th ASEM workshop (20th-21st of May 2021).

In the work entitledIn-situ TEM Investigation of Silicon at small scales”,Inas Issa and co-authorsreported pioneering insights demonstrating the remarkable toughening and a connected dramatic shift in the brittle-to-ductile transition temperature of a highly brittle yet indispensable model material, namely Silicon, solely by geometrical miniaturization. This was rationalized via quantitative nanoscale fracture experiments performed in-situ in the transmission electron microscope in conjunction with advanced in-situ nanoscale strain mapping and detailed Finite Element Method simulations.

The Austrian Society for Electron Microscopy (ASEM) has been awarding the Fritz-Grasenick-Award to young scientists in the field of electron microscopy since 2007. Also, the award’s purpose is to remember one of the pioneers of electron microscopy in Austria, Dr. Fritz Grasenick (1916-2003), the founder of the Center for Electron Microscopy in Graz.