Senate of the OeAW

Copyright: ÖAW/Pichler
Copyright: ÖAW/Pichler

A Senate assists the Academy with fundamental issues. Its tasks also include promoting the Academy’s public work.

Members of the OeAW-Senate

Wolfgang Sobotka (Chair)
President of the Austrian National Council

Michael Häupl
Mayor and Governor of Vienna

Brigitte Bierlein 
President of the Austrian Constitutional Court

Johanna Rachinger
Director-General of the Austrian National Library

Hannes Androsch
Chair of the Austrian Council for Research and Technology Development

Reto Weiler
Member of the Austrian Science Board

Jürgen Kocka
WZB – Berlin Social Science Center

Cattina Leitner
Chair of the University Council, Medical University of Graz

Roman Necina
General Manager Shire Austria GmbH


For further information see the Statute of the OeAW.