16 female and 13 male outstanding researchers have been added to the ranks of the Austrian Academy of Sciences.

[Translate to English:] © ÖAW
[Translate to English:] PRESSEBILDER ZUR ÖAW

The Austrian Academy of Sciences (OeAW) welcomes 29 new members to its ranks. At the annual election on 20 April 2018, 16 female and 13 male researchers from various disciplines of the humanities, the social sciences, cultural studies, mathematics and the natural and technical sciences were inducted in recognition of their scholarly achievements and their reputation within their respective fields.

Besides appointing two full Members, 14 corresponding Members and 10 Members of the Young Academy, the OeAW also welcomes three new honorary Members. Cécile Morrisson, an internationally recognised expert in Byzantine numismatics and economic history at the Collège de France in Paris, was elected an honorary Member of the Division of Humanities and the Social Sciences of the OeAW. Erwin Hochmair of the University of Innsbruck and Ingeborg Hochmair-Desoyer of Vienna’s Technical University – both have produced pioneering work in the development of modern cochlea implants for hearing loss – were elected honorary Members of the Division of Mathematics and the Natural Sciences of the Academy.


Division of Humanities and the Social Sciences

  • Cécile Morrisson (Collège de France), Byzantinine numismatics and economic history

Division of Mathematics and the Natural Sciences

  • Erwin Hochmair (University of Innsbruck), medical electronics
  • Ingeborg Hochmair-Desoyer (Technical University of Vienna), medical engineering


Division of Humanities and the Social Sciences

  • Stefan Michael Newerkla (University of Vienna), Slavic studies
  • Robert Rollinger (University of Innsbruck), Classical history and Classical Oriental studies


Division of Humanities and the Social Sciences

  • Federico Celestini (University of Innsbruck), musicology
  • Sabine Ladstätter (Austrian Archaeological Institute of the OeAW), Classical archaeology
  • August Reinisch (University of Vienna), international law and international relations
  • Sigrid Stagl (Vienna University of Economics and Business), ecological economics

Division of Mathematics and the Natural Sciences

  • Markus Aspelmeyer (University of Vienna), experimental quantum physics
  • Nuno Maulide (University of Vienna), synthetic organic chemistry
  • Ursula Schmidt-Erfurth (Medical University of Vienna), ophthalmology


Division of Humanities and the Social Sciences

  • Lorraine Daston (Max Planck Institute for the History of Science Berlin, Germany), philosophy
  • Ingeborg Fialová (Palacký University Olomouc, Czech Republic), German studies
  • Sylvia Kaufmann (Study Center Gerzensee, Switzerland), macro-economics and monetary policy
  • Diana Mishkova (Centre for Advanced Study Sofia, Bulgaria), Southeastern European history

Division of Mathematics and the Natural Sciences

  • Claudia Draxl (Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany), computational materials physics
  • Mats Gyllenberg (University of Helsinki, Finland), biomathematics
  • Andreas Wagner (ETH Zurich, Switzerland), molecular genetics and evolutionary biology


  • Hannes Fellner (University of Vienna), linguistics
  • Simone Gingrich (University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna), social ecology
  • Maximilian Hartmuth (University of Vienna), art history and art studies
  • Thomas Magauer (University of  Innsbruck), organic chemistry
  • Astrid Mager (Institute of Technology Assessment of the OeAW), science and technology research
  • David Natal (Institute for Medieval Research of the OeAW), history of the Late Classical period
  • Saskia Stachowitsch (University of Vienna), political science
  • Miriam Unterlass (Technical University of Vienna), materials chemistry
  • Astrid Weiss (Technical University of Vienna), human-robot interaction
  • Renée Winter (University of Vienna), contemporary history