Networks, Knowledge Transfer, and Outreach

Forschen in den digital humanities bedeutet, neue Methoden gemeinsam und explorativ anzuwenden. Das Team der Gruppe "Networks, Knowledge Transfer and Outreach" (NeKTO) fördert diesen Zugang, indem es digital Forschende vernetzt und sie dazu ermutigt, ihr Wissen zu teilen.  Um die Relevanz digitaler Forschungsprozesse und -ergebnisse sowohl der akademischen Fachgemeinschaft als auch der Gesellschaft transparent und begreifbar zu machen, entwickelt das Team innovative Formate.

Mit der Ausrichtung der ACDH Lectures hat AG 1 eine Vortragsserie etabliert, bei der international ausgewiesene DH-ExpertInnen von ihren Projekten berichten. In den ACDH-Tool Galleries, die sich an  Forschende inner- und außerhalb der ÖAW richten, werden DH-Werkzeuge regelmäßig und praxisbezogen vorgestellt. Auch mit der Durchführung internationaler Kongresse, universitärer Lehrveranstaltungen und "Young Science"-Projekten leisten die Wissenschaftlerinnen der AG 1 einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur zielgruppenorientierten Weitergabe von DH Know-How und setzen sich intensiv mit den Bedürfnissen digital Forschender auseinander.
 
AG 1 koordiniert zudem sämtliche Aktivitäten, die im Rahmen der europäischen Konsortien angesiedelt sind. Das ACDH steht dabei im Zentrum der österreichischen Forschungsinfrastrukturlandschaft und bildet im 2015 neu begründeten DHA-Netzwerk (“Digital Humanities Austria”) den österreichischen Part der europäischen Initiativen CLARIN und DARIAH.
 
Weiters verantwortet das AG 1 Team die Inhalte der ACDH Website, der ACDH Social Media Kanäle auf Twitter und Youtube und betreut das ACDH PraktikantInnenprogramm.

Networks, Knowledge Transfer, and Outreach

Doing research in the digital humanities means applying new methods collectively and exploratively. The aim of the working group “Networks, Knowledge Transfer and Outreach” is to support this approach by connecting digital researchers and encouraging them to share their expertise in order to comprehensibly and clearly demonstrate the relevance of digital research processes and results to both the academic community and society at large.

With the the ACDH Lectures, Core Unit 1 has established an event series which brings international experts in the field of DH to Vienna to report on their projects. The ACDH Tool Galleries, directed at researchers from both within and outside the Austrian Academy of Sciences, are another regular event series designed to showcase current DH tools and their application in a practice-oriented, workshop-like setting. Additionally, the researchers of AG1 assess and engage with the needs and requirements of researchers in the field of digital humanities, contributing to the target-group-specific transfer of DH know-how by organising international conferences, university courses and “young sciences” projects.
 
Furthermore, Core Unit 1 coordinates all activities relating to the European consortia. Positioned at the centre of Austria’s research infrastructure landscape, the ACDH represents the Austrian part of European intitiatives CLARIN and DARIAH in the recently established DHA-network (“Digital Humanities Austria”).
 
Finally, the team of Core Unit 1 is responsible for managing the content of the ACDH Website, ACDH Social Media channels (e.g. Twitter and YouTube) and directs the ACDH Internship Programme.