Search      Home      Contact      Deutsch

Structure & Tasks

Learned Society and Scientific Organisation Promoting Innovative Research

The Austrian Academy of Sciences represents a learned society like the great European academies on the one hand and Austria's leading non-university institution for basic research on the other. It is currently promoting 28 research institutions. The Austrian Academy of Sciences consists of two sections, the Section for Mathematics and the Natural Sciences and the Section for the Humanities and the Social Sciences. By way of election, scholars from Austria and abroad are included among the full members, corresponding members or the honorary members of the Austrian Academy of Sciences. Elections take place once a year and are based on suggestions of the full members of the Academy. According to the statutes of the Austrian Academy of Sciences full members are limited to the number of 90 (45 scholars for each section), while 250 scholars (125 for each section, 55 of which from Austria and 70 from abroad) can be appointed corresponding members (these numbers do not include Academy members who are older than 70, who also fully maintain their electoral rights). Presently, the Academy has up to 600 members. The Austrian Academy of Sciences is headed by the Presiding Committee composed of four representatives elected from among the full members of the Academy. In association with the plenary session and the sessions of the two sections, it forms the decision-making body of the Academy.

The Tasks of the Austrian Academy of Sciences

"The Austrian Academy of Sciences is a legal entity under the special protection of the Federal Republic of Austria. (...) Its mission is to promote the sciences and humanities in every respect and in every field, particularly in basic research.
(Quotation from the statutes of the Austrian Academy of Sciences)

As a learned society including highly qualified researchers from Austria and abroad, the Austrian Academy of Sciences performs its principal duty by supporting research institutions and research activities, which are widely known for their important and highly remunerative research projects in the field of basic research. The institutions of the Austrian Academy of Sciences are also engaged in applied research, write reports and statements related to research policy and are closely interlinked with international research projects and scientific organisations. Young and successful researchers presenting excellent results of scientific research are promoted by the Academy with awards and eight scholarship programmes.

International and Interdisciplinary Relations

Against the background of European integration, global networking and international competition, the Austrian Academy of Sciences has presently the primary aim to support top-quality research institutions in those fields which are either excluded from universities, despite their actual importance, which out of their structural difference cannot be dealt with at universities or which are placed in between the major fields tought at universities. While the latter are mainly focussing the connection of research and teaching, the most important duty of the Austrian Academy of Sciences is its "exploratory" performance in medium- and long-term research. Compared to university institutions, interdisciplinary and complementary approaches are essential criteria of research of the Austrian Academy of Sciences. Examples for the interdisciplinary and complementary performance of the Academy institutions are space research, the maintenance of clean air, demography, aging reserach, Iranian studies or the field of "Institutional Change and European Integration. Going beyond conventional delimitations, testing and expanding important research trends and advocating their inclusion in university teaching and research, the Austrian Academy of Sciences represents the Austrian scientific "laboratory". Members of the Academy, who very often belong to the faculty of Austrian universities, assume the function of giving advisory and supervisory impulses.

The administration of numerous national and international research programmes is another important task of the Austrian Academy of Sciences. Some of the research institutions of the Academy closely collaborate with leading international institutions, like for example CERN in Geneva. The participation in research programmes of the European Union has gained increasing importance in recent years. At present bilateral agreements with some 47 partner institutions in 43 countries provide the opportunity to participate in international research projects on an exchange basis.

Quality Based on Evaluation

Due to its autonomous position the Austrian Academy of Sciences can flexibly react to changing circumstances. It has the prerequisites to establish research institutions of differing size or structure within a relatively short period or to close them in case the topicality or quality of the research performance is no longer evident, which has happened several times in recent years. Research projects leading to scientific results which form the basis for further detailed research in the specific field and thus depend on long-term planning assume special importance among the tasks and duties of the Austrian Academy of Sciences. In the humanities, such projects are for example the elaboration of encyclopedia and dictionaries, the compilation of text corpora, annotated editions and the scientific responsibility of archives. In the field of the natural sciences, investigations of biodiversity and biological long-time series are to be mentioned in this context. With its Medium-Term Research Programme ("Mittelfristiges Forschungsprogramm") the Austrian Academy of Sciences has initiated a process of evaluation and quality assessment which constitutes the basis for permanent structural reform, that is for the continuation, new orientation or closure of the respective research unit. This form of research planning introduced into Austrian research institutions by the Austrian Academy of Sciences and practised for the first time in 1996 aims at the adaptation of the research programme of the Academy and at ensuring the excellence of the achieved scientific results.

Basic Research and Applied Research

The Austrian Academy of Sciences includes outstanding scientists from Austria and from abroad among its members, who represent all fields of research. Staff members of the research institutions promoted by the Academy are highly qualified and internationally renowned scientists. The Academy thus has the prerequisites for compiling interdisciplinary reports and for lending advisory support to the legislative body. As mentioned above, basic research is an integral part of the scientific performance of the research institutions of the Austrian Academy of Sciences. However, the connection and combination of basic and applied research gained increasing importance in recent years. By establishing research associations and limited liability companies the Academy is exploring new perspectives of institutional organisation. The research contract with Boehringer Ingelheim group of companies, one of the world's leading pharmaceutical corporations, initiated close cooperation of academic research and the economy.

Austrian Academy of Sciences Press, Library, Computer Center ...

From 1973 onwards, the Academy has its own publishing house printing the latest research results. Between 60 and 80 publications come out every year. The Academy has one of the most important libraries in Austria comprising at present up to 300,000 books. The scientific archives of the Academy illuminate the biographical background of Austria’s history of research and include numerous unpublished manuscripts of scholars. The Computer Center (ARZ) provides for modern computer technology and offers innovative solutions to problems of data security and communication.

Suche      Home      Kontakt      English

Struktur & Aufgaben

Gelehrtengesellschaft und innovative Forschungsträgerin

Die Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften ist einerseits Gelehrtengesellschaft wie die großen Akademien Europas und zugleich führende grundlagenorientierte, außeruniversitäre Forschungsinstitution in Österreich. Sie ist Trägerorganisation von derzeit 27 Forschungseinrichtungen. Die Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften besteht aus zwei Klassen, der mathematisch-naturwissenschaftlichen und der philosophisch-historischen Klasse. Gelehrte aus dem In- und Ausland werden zu wirklichen, korrespondierenden und Ehrenmitgliedern der ÖAW gewählt, wobei die Wahlen einmal im Jahr erfolgen und auf Vorschlägen der wirklichen Akademiemitglieder beruhen. Die Geschäftsordnung der ÖAW sieht 90 wirkliche Mitglieder vor, 45 für jede Klasse, und 250 korrespondierende Mitglieder, 125 in jeder Klasse, davon jeweils 55 im Inland und 70 im Ausland (über 70 Jahre alte Mitglieder sind, bei voller Wahrung ihrer Rechte, in diesen Zahlen nicht berücksichtigt). Derzeit zählt die Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften rund 600 Mitglieder. An der Spitze der Akademie steht das Präsidium, das sich aus vier aus den Reihen der wirklichen Mitglieder gewählten Personen zusammensetzt. Gemeinsam mit dem Präsidium bilden die Gesamtsitzung und die Klassensitzungen die Entscheidungsgremien der ÖAW.

Aufgaben

"Die Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften ist eine unter dem besonderen Schutz des Bundes stehende juristische Person öffentlichen Rechts. (...) Ihre Aufgabe ist es, die Wissenschaft auf allen Gebieten, insbesondere im Bereich der Grundlagenforschung, in jeder Hinsicht zu fördern."
(Auszug aus der Geschäftsordnung)

Die Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften erfüllt diese Aufgabe als Gesellschaft von hochqualifizierten Forschern und Forscherinnen aus dem In- und Ausland sowie als Trägerin eigener Forschungseinrichtungen und Forschungsaktivitäten, die wichtige und hochdotierte Forschungsvorhaben im Bereich der Grundlagenforschung durchführen. Forschungseinrichtungen der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften arbeiten darüber hinaus im Bereich der angewandten Forschung, erstellen Gutachten, verfassen forschungspolitische Stellungnahmen und wirken an internationalen Forschungsprojekten und Wissenschaftsorganisationen mit. Herausragende wissenschaftliche Leistungen junger und bereits arrivierter Forscherinnen und Forscher werden mit der Vergabe von Preisen und mit acht Stipendienprogrammen honoriert.

Internationale und interdisziplinäre Beziehungen

Vor dem Hintergrund der Integration Europas, der globalen Vernetzung und der Konkurrenzsituation in der internationalen Forscherlandschaft muss auch das Verhältnis der ÖAW zu den nationalen und internationalen wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen neu definiert werden. Dementsprechend ist es gegenwärtig das Hauptziel der ÖAW, Forschungseinrichtungen von herausragender Qualität auf jenen Gebieten zu unterhalten, die trotz wichtiger Fragestellung an den Universitäten nicht oder nicht ausreichend bearbeitet werden, auf Grund der anders gearteten Strukturen und Aufgaben der Universitäten nicht bearbeitet werden können oder zwischen den universitären Disziplinen angesiedelt sind. Steht bei den Universitäten die Verbindung von Forschung und Lehre im Vordergrund, so sieht die ÖAW in der "exploratorischen" Arbeit sowie in mittel- und langfristigen Forschungen ihre zentrale Aufgabe. Interdisziplinarität und Komplementarität sind in Relation zu den universitären Einrichtungen wesentliche Kriterien der von der ÖAW betreuten Aufgaben. Als Beispiele wären Forschungsaufgaben aus der Weltraumforschung, der "Reinhaltung der Luft", der Demographie, Alternsforschung und Iranistik oder etwa dem Bereich "Institutioneller Wandel und europäische Integration" zu nennen. Indem neue und wichtige Forschungsrichtungen erprobt und ausgebaut und in die Universitäten hinein wirksam werden, stellt die Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften eine über konventionelle Fächer und Fächergrenzen hinausgehende "Versuchsstation" für Österreich dar. Die Mitglieder der ÖAW, vielfach Angehörige österreichischer Universitäten, fungieren als beratende Impulsgeber und -geberinnen und als Aufsichtsorgan.

Die Akademie verwaltet zahlreiche nationale und internationale Forschungsprogramme. Einige Forschungseinrichtungen arbeiten eng mit führenden internationalen Institutionen, z. B. CERN in Genf, zusammen. Darüber hinaus wird auch die Teilnahme an den Forschungsprogrammen der EU forciert. Verträge mit 47 Partnereinrichtungen in 43 Ländern regeln den Wissenschaftleraustausch und bieten die Möglichkeit zu wechselseitigen Forschungsaufenthalten.

Qualität durch Evaluation

Dank ihres autonomen Status kann die Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften rasch und sehr flexibel auf sich verändernde Gegebenheiten reagieren. Sie kann Einrichtungen von unterschiedlicher Größenordnung und Struktur innerhalb relativ kurzer Zeit ins Leben rufen oder aber, wenn die Aktualität und/oder Qualität der geleisteten Arbeit nicht mehr gegeben ist, schließen, wie dies des Öfteren in den vergangenen Jahren geschehen ist. Eine besondere Verpflichtung sieht die ÖAW darin, jenen wissenschaftlichen Aufgaben nachzukommen, welche die Basis für weiterführende Arbeiten im jeweiligen Wissensgebiet darstellen und daher eine längerfristige Planung verlangen. Im geisteswissenschaftlichen Bereich zählen dazu u. a. die Erarbeitung von Lexika und Wörterbüchern, der Aufbau von Textcorpora, kritische Editionen und die wissenschaftliche Betreuung von Archivbeständen. Im naturwissenschaftlichen Bereich sind in diesem Kontext Untersuchungen auf dem Gebiet der Biodiversität und der biologischen Langzeitreihen anzuführen. Als erste Forschungseinrichtung Österreichs hat die ÖAW in ihrem "Mittelfristigen Forschungsprogramm" einen Evaluationsprozess eingeleitet und damit einen Mechanismus der Qualitätssicherung und der permanenten strukturellen Reform etabliert, der die Grundlage für die Fortsetzung, Neuorientierung oder Beendigung der betreffenden Forschungsarbeit bzw. für weiterreichende strukturelle Reformen bildet. Diese von der ÖAW eingeleitete Forschungsplanung soll der programmatischen Orientierung der ÖAW dienen und zugleich wissenschaftliche Exzellenz gewährleisten.

Grundlagenorientierung und angewandte Forschung

Die ÖAW zählt hervorragende Forscher und Forscherinnen aller Disziplinen aus dem In- und Ausland zu ihren Mitgliedern und verfügt in ihren Forschungseinrichtungen über hochqualifizierte, international ausgewiesene Mitarbeiter und Mitarbeiterinnen. Sie verfügt daher über beste Voraussetzungen für fächerübergreifende gutachterliche Äußerungen oder auch für die Unterstützung des Gesetzgebers als Beratungsorgan. Wie bereits erwähnt, ist Grundlagenorientierung ein wesentliches Merkmal der Arbeit in den Forschungseinrichtungen der ÖAW. In zunehmendem Maße wurden in den vergangenen Jahren jedoch Brücken geschlagen zwischen Grundlagenforschung, anwendungsorientierter und angewandter Forschung. Mit der Gründung von Forschungsgesellschaften und Wirtschaftsbetrieben hat die ÖAW zuletzt neue Wege der Institutsorganisation beschritten. Der Kooperationsvertrag mit einem führenden Industrieunternehmen, dem Unternehmensverband Boehringer Ingelheim, im vergangenen Jahr ermöglicht darüber hinaus die Zusammenarbeit zwischen akademischer Forschung und Wirtschaft.

Verlag, Bibliothek, Rechenzentrum ...

Seit 1973 betreibt die Akademie einen eigenen Verlag, in dem neueste Forschungsergebnisse veröffentlicht werden. Pro Jahr erscheinen zwischen 60 und 80 neue Publikationen. Die ÖAW besitzt eine der wichtigsten Bibliotheken Österreichs, die derzeit rund 300.000 Bände umfasst. Das für die Forschungsgeschichte Österreichs bedeutsame wissenschaftliche Archiv der Akademie enthält unter anderem zahlreiche Nachlässe von Gelehrten. Das Akademie-Rechenzentrum stellt den Forschungseinrichtungen moderne Computertechnologie zur Verfügung und bietet innovative Lösungen im Bereich der Datensicherung und -kommunikation.