About CMC

The Institute for Comparative Media and Communication Studies of the Austrian Academy of Sciences and the Alpen-Adria-University Klagenfurt was founded on 1 January 2013. It succeeds the Commission for Comparative Media and Communication Studies which was founded on 1 February 1994 and was originally named Commission for Mass Communication History (based on a 1991 founded study group at the Austrian Biographical Encyclopedia). The commission was renamed on 14 October 2005.

Mission Statement

Why

Media and communication research is one of the key disciplines of the modern media and information society.

On the one hand, with the increasing dynamism and complexity of the political and social environment, the opportunity for individual primary experience is diminishing, as a result of which the importance of mediated experience is increasing. On the other hand, the growing diversity of the media and its changing use are leading to new ways of dealing with content channelled through the media.

In consequence, the conditions of public opinion formation as one of the fundamental pillars of a democratic community are changing.

What

CMC investigates the connection between media change and the changing forms of political communication and public opinion formation, and the accompanying consequences for action and responsibility on the macro-, meso- and micro-level.

How

Investigation of the communication performance of the media, of their structural pre-conditions and their societal consequences calls for an approach that is comparative in many respects.

CMC therefore employs a combination of longitudinal and latitudinal analysis from an international and intermedial perspective. CMC is independent, methodologically innovative, interdisciplinary, internationally networked and politically relevant.

As an institute supported by both the Austrian Academy of Sciences and the Alpen-Adria-University of Klagenfurt, CMC, in keeping with Humboldtian ideals, is particularly concerned to bring research findings directly into education and into public and political discourse, and to give encouragement to the younger generation of scientists and academics.

Organigram

-   -   - SAB -
Office Directorate

Walter Berka

Susanne Fengler

Uwe Hasebrink

Kurt Imhof

Herbert Matis

Jürgen Wilke

Verena Winiwarter

Ingrid Serini

Matthias Karmasin / Josef Seethaler

-
- Media Accountability and Media Governance - Media and Democracy - Science and Health Communication -

UNDER CONSTRUCTION

Maren Beaufort (OAW)

Matthias Karmasin (AAU, OAW)

Gabriele Melischek

(OAW, AAU, Consultant)

Josef Seethaler (OAW)

Lukas M. Vosicky (OAW, BMEIA)

 

Matthias Karmasin

(Group Leader / AAU, OAW)

N.N. (Senior Scientist / OAW)

Katja Kaufmann (OAW)

Christian Oggolder (AAU)

Josef Seethaler

(Group Leader / OAW)

Maren Beaufort (OAW)

Klaus Bichler (OAW, RTR)

Wolfgang Dick (OAW, RTR)

Rosmarie Hergouth (OAW)

Marie-Isabell Lohmann

(OAW, FWF)

Gabriele Melischek

(OAW, AAU, Consultant)

Corinna Wenzel (OAW, RTR)

Romy Wöhlert (AAU)

  Research Transfer  

Staff

Maren Beaufort
Research Assistant (OAW)
(+43-1) 51581–3113 maren.beaufort@oeaw.ac.at
Klaus Bichler
Junior Scientist (OAW, RTR)
(+43-1) 51581-3113 klaus.bichler@oeaw.ac.at
Wolfgang Dick
Project Manager (OAW, RTR)
(+43-1) 51581-3125 wolfgang.dick@oeaw.ac.at
Rosmarie Hergouth
Student (OAW)
(+43-1) 51581-3112 rosmarie.hergouth@oeaw.ac.at
Matthias Karmasin
Director
(+43-1) 51581-3113 matthias.karmasin@uni-klu.ac.at
Katja Kaufmann
Junior Scientist (OAW)
(+43-1) 51581-3112 katja.kaufmann@oeaw.ac.at
Marie-Isabell Lohmann
Junior Scientist (OAW)
(+43-1) 51581-3121 marie-isabell.lohmann@oeaw.ac.at
Gabriele Melischek
Consultant (OAW, AAU)
(+43-1) 51581–3114 gabriele.melischek@oeaw.ac.at
N.N.
Senior Scientist and
Research Group Leader (OAW)
(+43-1) 51581–3113  
Christian Oggolder
Senior Scientist (AAU)
(+43-1) 51581–3118 christian.oggolder@oeaw.ac.at
Josef Seethaler
Deputy Director
and Research Group Leader (OAW)
(+43-1) 51581–3116 josef.seethaler@oeaw.ac.at
Ingrid Serini
Secretary and Library Administration
(+43-1) 51581–3113 ingrid.serini@oeaw.ac.at
Lukas Marcel Vosicky
Scientist (OAW, BMEIA)
(+43-1) 51581–3124 lukas.vosicky@oeaw.ac.at
Corinna Wenzel
Junior Scientist (OAW, RTR)
(+43-1) 51581-3112 corinna.wenzel@oeaw.ac.at
Romy Wöhlert
Senior Scientist (AAU)
(+43-1) 51581–3119 romy.woehlert@oeaw.ac.at

Former Staff Members

Jens Tenscher
Melanie Magin
Birgit Stark
Oliver Gruber
Andreas Birner
Katja Skodacsek
Wolfgang Mueller
Isabella Matauschek
Ernestine Bennersdorfer
Ulrike Harmat
Christian Balluch