Digital Research Infrastructure for the Arts and Humanities

The ACDH has grown out of a number of eHumanities projects. Staff members have naturally taken a strong interest in the pan-European infrastructure DARIAH (Digital Research Infrastructure for the Arts and Humanities) and strived to translate the developments and initiatives on the European level into fruitful activities on the national level. By identifying possible cooperations and exploiting potential synergies, they have developed the ACDH into the central hub in Austria for digitally rooted humanities studies forming a tightly knit network of interested research groups and individual scholars to realise visible and sustainable developments.

As the name suggests, DARIAH (Digital Research Infrastructure for the Arts and Humanities) is targeting a very large community. Its declared goals are to enhance and support digitally enabled research across the arts and humanities, to develop, maintain and operate an infrastructure in support of ICT-based research practices and to support researchers in using ICT-enabled methods to analyse and interpret digital resources (DARIAH-EU Coordination Office 2013). The group of participating institutions and researchers is also aiming at setting up an ERIC. DARIAH applied for the ERIC status in 2012 and has become a European legal entity with 15 Founding Members: Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Serbia and Slovenia. The European Commission’s implementing decision entered into force on Friday 15 August 2014. 

DARIAH has been operating through a network of four virtual competency centres (VCC):

  • e-Infrastructure
  • Scholarly Content Management
  • Research and Education
  • Advocacy

So far, each of the VCCs has been headed by two member countries and is made up of mixed groups of stakeholders. The VCCs have their own internal structure and their specific workflows which are determined by the necessities of the particular tasks. Austria has been co-heading VCC1.

ACDH Contacts
Karlheinz Mörth (karlheinz.moerth@oeaw.ac.at)
Claudia Resch (claudia.resch@oeaw.ac.at)